Sacramento Valley Scholastic Chess League


Who We Are

The SVSCL was begun by Bill Bynum and Cathy Mueller in 2002 in order to provide students in Northern California the opportunity to play competitive chess. Today it has evolved into a chess league of students from schools located in Butte, Tehama, Yuba, Plumas, and Sutter Counties. The league recently received recognition from the United States Chess Federation (USCF) as the 9th largest scholastic chess league in the nation! 

A combined membership in the SVSCL and USCF (United States Chess Federation) costs $35 and is good for one year. Check with your child’s teacher, school, or school district for potential scholarship options.

The current SVSCL Director is Steven Oberlander. We are always available to answer questions or assist you in any way! Our contact info is at the bottom of the page. We look forward to hearing from you!


League  Tournaments

Rated chess tournaments are held once a month during the school year at various member schools. A total of 3 games are played per tournament using 10 minute time controls.

Students may participate as members of a school team or as unattached individuals. A group of three or more players constitutes a team. Perpetual team trophies are awarded to the top two teams from each of our three grade categories. These include K-3, 4-6, and 7-12.

Tournament play begins at 4:00 and concludes by 5:30. Arriving at least 15 minutes prior to the beginning of play is highly encouraged!


September 21, 2022

Shasta Elementary


K-3 Winner: Neal Dow Elementary

4-6 Winner: Neal Dow Elementary

7-12 Winner: Pleasant Valley High

October 12, 2022

Franklin Elementary School

Yuba City

K-3 Winner: Neal Dow Elementary

4-6 Winner: Franklin Elementary

7-12 Winner: Palermo Middle School

November 9, 2022

Pleasant Valley High School


K-3 Winner: ?

4-6 Winner: ?

7-12 Winner: ?

January 18, 2023

Palermo Middle School


K-3 Winner: ?

4-6 Winner: ?

7-12 Winner: ?

February 8, 2023

Little Chico Creek Elementary


K-3 Winner: ?

4-6 Winner: ?

7-12 Winner: ?

March 8, 2023


Neal Dow Elementary


K-3 Winner: ?

4-6 Winner: ?

7-12 Winner: ?

April ?
Biggs High School

Links and Downloads

SVSCL Membership Application

US Chess Federation

Chess Player Rankings

Geri's Game - Pixar

Bughouse Chess

Membership applications and fees can be brought to tournaments or mailed to the following address at least one week prior to a tournament:


1235 Neal Dow Ave.

Chico, CA


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn